WSR Signs Collard For 2017 BTCC Season

WSR has confirmed its lineup for the 2017 BTCC season, giving it three talented and experienced drivers for its three-pronged attack on the championship.













As predicted by us over the last month or so, Rob Collard has been resigned by the WSR Team alongside old team-mate Colin Turkington and newcomer Andrew Jordan. The trio have 70 race wins, 200+ podiums and three overall BTCC crowns between them, giving the BMW team one of the strongest lineups of 2017. Turkington and Jordan are proven title contenders and Collard has driven brilliantly for the last couple of seasons, so the team could really have three contenders for the title. The announcement marks the beginning of Collard’s 10th season in the series. Speaking of the announcement, Collard said;

“The team has a pedigree like no other in the BTCC and the level of professionalism and preparation that has been key to its success is clear to see in everything it does. This will be my 10th season with the team and I plan to use that continuity to my advantage.”


“I took my first BTCC win and my first podium with WSR and now my aim is to take my first title with them too. With Colin and Andrew as my team-mates, I think we have the strongest line-up in the championship and I can’t wait to start testing the latest development of the BMW later this month.”

Adding to what Collard said, Team Principal Dick Bennetts said this;

“Rob is very much part of the family here, is one of the best drivers in the BTCC for pure racing ability and played a pivotal role in WSR’s constructors’ and teams’ title successes in 2016. I don’t see any reason why he can’t be a title contender again.”













Collard was the favourite for the final seat, and now all major teams have announced their lineups. More are to come though and it looks like we could be in store for a great season of tin-top racing. But isn’t that what we get every year with the BTCC?


Triple Eight MG MG6
Aron Taylor-Smith, Dan Lloyd

WSR BMW 125i M Sport
Andrew Jordan, Colin Turkington, Rob Collard

Speedworks Toyota Avensis
Tom Ingram

Team BMR Subaru Levorg
Jason Plato, Ash Sutton, James Cole, TBA

Team Dynamics Honda Civic Type-R
Gordon Shedden, Matt Neal, Matt Simpson

Handy Motorsport Toyota Avensis
Rob Austin

Laser Tools Racing Mercedes-Benz A-Class
Aiden Moffat

Maximum Motorsport Ford Focus
Stewart Lines

Motorbase Performance Ford Focus
Mat Jackson, Luke Davenport, Martin Depper

AmD Tuning Audi S3 Saloon
Ollie Jackson, Ant Whorton-Eales

BTC Racing Chevrolet Cruze
Chris Smiley, Dave Newsham

Ciceley Racing Mercedes-Benz A-Class
Adam Morgan

Eurotech Racing Honda Civic Type-R
Jeff Smith, Jack Goff

Power Maxed Racing Vauxhall Astra
Tom Chilton, Senna Proctor

Team Hard VW CC
Will Burns, Michael Epps, Jake Hill

Team Parker Ford Focus
Stephen Jelley

Start the discussion

to comment