Inbee Park Makes LPGA History with 3rd Straight Women’s PGA Championship


Inbee Park won her third consecutive Women’s PGA Championship on Sunday – and it really wasn’t that close.

Park, 26, also regained the No. 1 ranking in the word, surpassing her idol Se Ri Pak for the most majors by a South Korean player with six. Park also tied the LPGA Tour record for the lowest score in a major in relation to par at 19 under and, in her own mind, cemented a place in women’s golf history.

“Obviously putting my name alongside like Annika Sorenstam or Patty Berg, legends of golf, just being a part of history of this golf tournament, I feel extremely honored, and I can’t believe that I just did it,” Park said.

Park closed with a bogey-free 5-under 68 at Westchester Country Club, finishing the season’s second major five strokes ahead of 22-year-old compatriot Sei Young Kim. Park had 22 birdies and only three bogeys in 72 holes.

“I played great the last three days,” she said. “I couldn’t believe myself. I made no bogeys for three days.”

Park and Sorenstam (2003-2005) are the only players to win the event previously called the LPGA Championship three consecutive years. It also was Park’s fifth victory in the past 12 majors.

Park won the previous two years in playoffs in Pittsford, New York, taking the 2013 event at Locust Hill and the 2014 tournament at Monroe Golf Club.

Park earned $525,000 for her third LPGA Tour victory of the season and 15th overall.

She joined Sorenstam, Pak, Patty Sheehan, Nancy Lopez, Kathy Whitworth and Mickey Wright as the only players to win the event at least three times. Wright won it four times.

Most Majors LPGA History

1. Patty Berg 15
2. Mickey Wright 13
3. Louise Suggs 11
T4. Annika Sörenstam 10
T4. Babe Zaharias 10
6. Betsy Rawls 8
T7. Juli Inkster 7
T7. Karrie Webb 7
T9. Inbee Park 6 (four others tied with 6)

Associated Press

Start the discussion

to comment