The newest PGA Tour winner was once penalized for the stupidest reason

Fortunately (or unfortunately) for pro golfers, the internet never forgets. Not even something like, lets say, an extremely weird penalty from 2013.

Hudson Swafford won his first PGA Tour event at the CareerBuilder Challenge this weekend, so it only makes sense to show his dirty laundry right? No wait, that’s what Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano did.

Anyways, this penalty is one of the weirder ones that some pros have to deal with. When taking a practice swing, Swafford pulled up a divot that ended up hitting his ball and moving it a few feet forward.

When this happens, the pro has to take a one stroke penalty. What makes this even weirder, is that Justin Rose did the same thing only a day before Swafford.

This is usually a rare occurrance, as pros usually stand further away from their ball to prevent this sort of mishap from happening (one stroke can make or break you on Tour). For this to happen twice in two days is pretty spooky.

It’s all good though. This happened on the Tour and he ended up in T-7th place, getting his PGA Tour card later that fall. Plus he just won his first event by birdieing three of his last four holes.

This. Was. Epic. ??

A video posted by PGA TOUR (@pgatour) on

While the rules may seem ridiculous at times, nothing can tear down hard work and determination. Case and point right here, people.

Start the discussion

to comment