Player Gets Penalised For Breaking This Massive Rule

  •  Keegan Bradley was playing his first round at the Waste Management Phoenix Open.

Screen Shot 2016-02-05 at 12.00.25
Source: Golfwrx

It’s the classic golf rule that you simply can’t break. Almost every rule is centred around the honesty of a player, with yesterday’s incident showing the cornerstone of our game is still in tact.

Discovering that you have 15 clubs in the bag is one of the most frustrating penalties in golf; two shots lost at the drop of a hat. Keegan Bradley’s caddie dropped the ball big time when they got to the second tee and found the player hadn’t chosen between a 3-iron and a hybrid. Criminal isn’t it? How can a professional use a hybrid over an iron? This is deeply disturbing.

Jokes aside, this really is a cardinal sin. Bradley’s caddie, Steve “Pepsi” Hale, normally has his player’s back, like when he squared up to Miguel Angel Jimenez.

P.S. The player still shot 68.

This was all very reminiscent of Ian Woosnam’s shocker. The former Masters Champion was on the cusp of victory at the 2001 British Open when he noticed his caddie had miscounted his clubs.