The most innovative professional golf tournament in history is about to start

GolfSixes is a unique tournament that will see teams participate in a condensed format. The idea was conceived by European Tour commissioner, Keith Pelley. 

The competition will involve two-man teams representing 16 nations play in a six-hole matchplay format, with the top two from each of the four groups progressing to Sunday’s knockout rounds. The Teams will play in a Greensomes format, where the teams select their best tee shot and then play alternate shot thereafter. The top two teams from each group progress to the knockout stages – the quarter-finals, the semi-finals, a 3rd/4th place play-off match and the final.

The only thing missing from this exciting format is a host of top ranked players. Thorbjorn Olesen, Nicolas Colsaerts, Jamie Donaldson, Chris Wood and Andy Sullivan make up some of the bigger names.

Partners Chris Wood and Andy Sullivan. Source : Sky Sports

“It’s an innovative way to get young kids to play, bring it out of the old age a bit and into the new age. It’s based around being more fun, more relaxed, but still being competitive.”

– Andy Sullivan

Some see this type of innovation as excessive, if not frivolous. Commenting after the PGA TOUR’s similarly left field format at last weeks Zurich Open, Jason Sobel admitted that the PGA TOUR could use as much spicing up as it can get, but we shouldn’t get too caught up in this obsession with team format. Instead, Sobel agrees with the European Tour’s idea, go a step further and actually innovate.

Executives for the game’s various elite tours shouldn’t be looking to replicate seemingly unique ideas. They should be attempting to build new ones, to figure out different concepts and strategies that will appeal to casual fans more than the conventional events.

– Jason Sobel

The event will be held at the Centurion Club in St Albans on Saturday and Sunday. Here are the participating countries:

Group A England, Denmark, The Netherlands, India

Group B – Thailand, Spain, Belgium, Scotland

Group C – Australia, Wales, USA, Portugal

Group D South Africa, France, Sweden, Italy



Start the discussion

to comment