In Pictures: The Top 11 NA LCS Summer Split ‘Player Of The Game’ Recipients

The ‘Player of the Game’ award has provided NA LCS pros with yet another leaderboard upon which to tussle for top position. As the NA LCS prepares to crown its Summer MVP, the ‘Player of the Game’ accolade tally for the split provides an indication towards the frontrunners for the award.

The 2017 Summer Split has seen a host of players stepping into the spotlight for their teams, taking games by the scruff of the neck and producing heroic plays to snatch victory from the jaws of defeat.

Unsurprisingly, the usual suspects tallied numerous ‘Player of the Game’ awards once again. Notably, Cloud9’s Nicolaj “Jensen” Jensen was a spearhead for the squad during an otherwise languid split for last season’s finalists, whereas the likes of Counter Logic Gaming’s Darshan “Darshan” Upadhyaha and Immortals’ Eugene “Pobelter” Park rediscovered their best form to push their team’s towards the league summit:

Players, coaches, the broadcast team, and selected media representatives take part in the voting for the MVP awards. Stats and performances are considered to make their choice, though the voting does not always align with public consensus.

Team SoloMid’s Kevin “Haunzer” Yarnell was considered the favourite to claim the Spring Split prize, but Phoenix1’s No “Arrow” Dong-Hyeon swooped in to claim the prize in his debut split.

According to the tally of ‘Player of the Game’ awards, Søren “Bjergsen” Bjerg should be a hot favourite to claim the title for a record fourth time. But as history has shown, a dark horse is more than capable of winning the MVP accolade once all the votes have been cast and counted.

Start the discussion

to comment