Captain’s Picks: Mickelson, Hoffman Are final Additions To U.S. Presidents Cup Team

United States Presidents Cup captain Steve Stricker faced a difficult decision with two coaches picks in his back pocket to select golfers who missed the top 10 in points. Two weeks ago, it was up in the air whom Stricker would choose for the competition to be held Sept. 28 in New Jersey.

It appeared Phil Mickelson was on the outside looking in after a disappointing major season and a 54th place showing at The Northern Trust. But Lefty showed Stricker something at the Dell Technologies Championship last weekend, finishing tied for 6th. The performance made the captain’s pick much easier, and Stricker named the President’s Cup vet to the squad.

Charley Hoffman also joins the United States team after missing the final automatic spot by mere decimal points.

“It was unanimous,” Stricker said of his two picks. “It was truly a team choice.”

Mickelson has been a member of both the United States Presidents Cup and Ryder Cup team for as long as European participant Jon Rahm has been alive, with his first team event coming at the 1993 Ryder Cup. That event was held two months after Jordan Spieth was born.

It will be Mickelson’s 23rd appearance on a United States team, an unprecedented run of selections to showcase his longevity and consistency.

“We all know what Phil brings to the table,” Stricker said. “He’s been on 20-plus teams. He’s an important part of all these teams. He, too, is starting to play better. He guarantees me he’s on the right track.”

The 2017 Presidents Cup will be Hoffman’s debut in the event. Hoffman was a clear choice for Stricker given his strong play this season with six top 10s.

The remaining United States team members are: Dustin Johnson, Jordan Spieth, Justin Thomas, Rickie Fowler, Daniel Berger, Brooks Koepka, Kevin Kisner, Patrick Reed, Matt Kuchar and Kevin Chappell.

International team captain Nick Price also made his final selections with Emiliano Grillo and Anirban Lahiri, who join Hideki Matsuyama, Jason Day, Adam Scott, Louis Oosthuizen, Marc Leishman, Charl Schwartzel, Branden Grace, Si Woo Kim and Jhonattan Vegas.

Join 1 other in the discussion

to comment